Gorlinsky, Vladimir

Born in 1984 in Moscow, composer and improviser. He studied with Vladimir Tarnopolsky at the Moscow Conservatoire, where he currently teaches improvisation and lectures at the Contemporary Music Department. He attended masterclasses conducted by Beat Furrer, Peter Ablinger, Brian Ferneyhough, Raphaël Cendo, Philippe Leroux, and Georges Aperghis. He is the author of several spatial compositions (games) performed at the Liefkenshoek fort in Kallo (Belgium) and the Transit Festival in Leuven, as well as composed specially for Moscow's Manezh (2013), Vinzavod (2014), and Not Yet Opened Space (2015). In 2014-15 he cooperated as composer and performer with choreographer Olga Tsvetkova on two theatre pieces entitled The Moments (for the Meyerhold Centre in Moscow). In May 2016 he organised the Dreamtory lab, conducting research into the human perception of time and hour-long improvisations, during which one may both play and sleep.

His compositions have been performed by leading ensembles and soloists such as Klangforum Wien, KNM, Nikel, Nadar, Vertixe Sonora, Kontra Trio, Insomnio, de ereprijs, Seyanapёsahl, Nostri Temporis, eNsemble, NoName, MCME, the Studio for New Music, trumpeter Marko Blaauw, singers Javier Hagen and Natalia Pshenichnikova, conductors Enno Poppe and Teodor Currentzis, as well as the Russian National Orchestra, during festivals and events such as New Chamber Music Days in Witten, Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt, Eight Bridges in Cologne, Kassel Music Days, SWR and WDR radio concerts, Venice Biennale, Avignon, Gaudeamus, Wien Modern, Impuls, Fortissimo, the concerts of Ums'n'Jip ensemble (Switzerland, Greece, Turkey), International Rostrum of Composers, ISCM Music Days in Hong Kong and Vienna, 2D2N and Gogol Fest, Moscow Autumn, Moscow Forum, Other Space, and Sound Trajectory. He has performed in the duo МЯУ with Sasha Yelina, in trio Takoye with Andrey Guryanov and Sasha Yelina, and in the Chthonic Gap group (with Kirill Shirokov). His numerous accolades include Space Laboratory (Moscow), Impuls Prize of the International Composition Competition (Graz), International Rostrum of Composers recommendations in two categories (Dublin), Grand Prix of the Pythian Games (St Petersburg), 2nd Prize at the International Composers' Competition in Moscow, and 1st prize in the Alfred Schnittke International Competition for Young Composers in Moscow.

Selected works: S'Morzando for flute, clarinet, horn, piano, viola and double bass (2006), Echo #1 for flute, clarinet, percussion, violin and cello (2006), Beiklang for flute, oboe, horn, trumpet, violin and cello (2007), Gravitation­Space for large ensemble (2007), Boxing Pushkin for large ensemble (2007), Ultimate Granular Paradise for ensemble and electronics (2008), Paramusic #1 for orchestra (2008), Accent Sequence for piano and electronics (2009, rev. 2016), Berlin. The Symphony of Big City for clarinet, percussion, piano and cello, music to the Walter Ruttmann lm (2010), Sun.Disc.Minotaurus for ensemble and electronics (2010), Echo #2. The Finger of God for seven performers (2011), Resonance #2. The Finger of God for eight spatially arranged performers (2011), Bramputalsel #1 for voice (2011), Bramputalsel #2 for bass flute and bass clarinet (2011-13), Paramusic #2 for orchestra (2012), She­Wolf for flute, saxophone, guitar, piano, cello and video (2013), Swansdown, Eastern Lenses for bass flute, double bass and tuba (2013), Gamebook for 16 amateur performers (2013), Anticipation for ensemble and electronics (2014), The Reason for ensemble, lights and video (2014), Unity for viola, electric guitar, electric piano, percussion and cello (2015), Vova's Rooms for alto flute, cello and piano (2015), Upstairs, Comrade, Upstairs for voice, flute, e-cello, violin, cello and percussion (2015), Deprivation, electronic music (2016), Dreamtory, text score for any number of players and sleeping performers (2016), Spatial Composition for two improvising ensembles (2016), Choral for Russian folk instruments orchestra (2016), Possibly Mercury for oboe, clarinet, horn and double bass (2017).