Krzysztof Baculewski

Krzysztof Baculewski "Subjective Annals 60 Editions of the Festival"


The leitmotifs were: instrumental and vocal music with electronics and purely electronic music. The opening piece, Cours des nuages by Ton Bruynèl, successfully combined instrumental and electroacoustic sounds. Other highlights included Edgar Varèse's Déserts; a concert dedicated to Pierre Henry's electroacoustic music; another concert exploring spatial phenomena, particularly - the unique echo in the Highest Voltage Hall of the Institute of Power Engineering; an installation by the Polish Association of Electro-Acoustic Music, and as a finale (!) - an electronic marathon in another post-industrial venue the Tęcza Studio in Żoliborz district. The Festival programme featured works by Georges Lentz, Paweł Szymański, Ewa Trębacz, Georges Aperghis, Fausto Romitelli, Per Nørgård, Steve Reich, Paweł Mykietyn's Passion According to St. Mark, and Cezary Duchnowski's operatic spectacle Martha's Garden. Composer debuts: Filip Matuszewski, Karol Nepelski, Piotr Roemer, Sławomir Wojciechowski, Stanisław Bromboszcz, and artists selected in the "Call for Sounds" competition: Anna Maria Huszcza, Martyna Kosecka, Sebastian Ładyżyński, and Marcin Rupociński.